Academic Medical Center/University of Amsterdam (AMC),

Principal Investigators
Dr. Danielle M. Gerlag,  Dr. Dominique Baeten

Main tasks in the project and previous experience relevant to those tasks:

Role in consortium: WP6 “Technologies – coordination and complementation” will be coordinated by AMC’s Div. Clinical Immunology & Rheumatology. AMC will also contribute to WP1, WP2 and WP5 in the IMI-5 “BDTC” application and to WP4, WP5 in this application. AMC will contribute by providing state-of-the-art technology, including high throughput analysis for TCR and BCR repertoire analysis, microarray analysis, and technology for genetic reprogramming of human memory B cells. AMC has access to large biobanks of well-defined clinical material and has extensive experience in coordinating translational research on an international as well as national level. AMC will contribute through its extensive experience in evaluation of the effects of targeted therapies, including synovial and lymph node biopsy in early rheumatoid arthritis, pre-arthritis, and spondyloarthritis. Expertise: Rheumatoid arthritis, pre-arthritis, spondyloarthritis, biobanking, clinical trials, drug development, studies of adaptive immunity, characterization of ACPA+ B cells, genetics, high throughput sequencing, TCR and BCR repertoire analysis, microarray analysis. Existing collaborations within the consortium: Close interactions exist with various European partners within the consortium via the EULAR Standing Committee of Investigative Rheumatology (chair-elect: PP Tak (AMC), EULAR Synovitis Study Group (chair: PP Tak), and EU-FP6 (WP Leader: PP Tak): with Athens (Kollias), Berlin (Burmester), Dublin (Veale), Erlangen (Schett), Glasgow (McInnes), Leiden (Huizinga), Montpellier (Jorgensen), Prague (Vencovsky), Stockholm (Klareskog), Vienna (Smolen), and Zurich (Gay), as illustrated by collaborative publications or papers in press with all of these partners.

Short profile of the staff who will carry out the work:

Leading scientists: Dr. Niek de Vries (TCR and BCR repertoire analysis),
Dr. Danielle M. Gerlag (rheumatology, pre-arthritis)
Paul Klarenbeek (TCR analysis)
Marieke Doorenspleet (BCR analysis).

Other key individuals:
Dr. Lisa G.M. van Baarsen (lymph nodes, microarray analysis)
Prof. Rene van Lier (immunology)
Prof Hergen Spits (B cell characterization)
Prof Frank Baas (molecular biology)
Wouter Barewijk (financial management).